Seven journalists were honored and awarded in the anniversary of Film Journalists Association

Film Journalists Association Nepal, the umbrella organization of journalists active in the arts, honored and awarded seven film journalists on the occasion of its 24th anniversary and Film Journalism Day. During a program in Kathmandu on Sunday, National Assembly Speaker Ganesh Timalsina, Film Journalists Association President Sameer Balami, Film Development Board President Bhuwan KC, actress Chaitya Devi of the first color Nepali film, Press Council President Balkrishna Basnet gave honors and awards.

For being active in art journalism for more than 25 years, Shantipriya was awarded the ‘National Film Journalism Silver Award’ of 55,555 rupees, Tulsi Giri ‘Bhavuk’ and Sriram Sigdel received the ‘National Film Journalism Award’, Kuber Dangol and Deepjyoti Thapa received the ‘National Film Journalism Award’ of 51,000 rupees. Journalism Award’ and ‘National Film Journalism Encouragement Award’ with a laptop to Srishti Pokharel and ‘National Mofasal Film Journalism Award’ worth Rs 25,000 to Ravi Adhikari.

Likewise, while a letter of thanks was given to Dinesh Sitaula, the outgoing president of the association, for completing the previous term successfully, a letter of appreciation was given to Manoj KC, Gyanu Rai, Rashmi Thapa and Niraj Panthi. In the same program, the association has also started the work of providing monthly social security allowance of Rs 4,000 to journalists who have completed 60 years in art journalism. Vijayaratna Tuladhar became the first art journalist to receive this allowance. He was given an allowance of eight thousand for the months of Baisakh and Jestha.

In the program, National Assembly President Ganesh Timalsina opined that since journalism encompasses the entire aspect of the film, it should be loved by everyone from the state to the filmmakers. He said, ‘how the actors act in the film, what the film is trying to say, whether to watch the film or not, everyone should love it because a lot of things come from journalism.’ He also urged everyone to play their part in giving Nepali films a different identity in the world. 

Bidur Giri, former president of the association, Mohan Niraula, president of the artists’ association, Nawal Khadka, president of the producers’ association, actor and producer Deepakraj Giri, actor Paul Shah, director Shobit Basnet, producer Sunil Kumar Thapa and others were present in the program. The association has been giving honors and awards to film journalists every year in its annual festival.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: