RSP recommends Tanahu-1’s Swarnim Wagle, Bara-2’s Ramesh Kharel

The Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) has included Swarnim Wagle of Tanahu-1 and Ramesh Kharel of Bara-2 in its preliminary list of candidates for the by-election to be held on April 23.

Issuing a statement on Thursday, RSP revealed the list of candidates for Chitwan-2, Tanahu-1 and Bara-2.

RSP Chairman Rabi Lamichhane is the only recommended candidate for Chitwan-2; Wagle, Ishwar Lamichhane and Rupak BK Ghimire of Tanahu-1; and Kharel and Yuvaraj Neupane of Bara-2.

Wagle resigned from NC on Thursday saying he is no longer with the big party led by Sher Bahadur Deuba and his wife Arzu.

The Bara-2 constituency was left vacant after JSP’s Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav was elected Vice President.

The Chitwan-2 constituency was left vacant after the Supreme Court (SC) ruled that Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) Chairman Rabi Lamichhane was ineligible to become a lawmaker because he did not complete the process to reacquire his certificate of citizenship that became invalid after acquiring US citizenship.

Lamichhane has already re-acquired citizenship from the Kathmandu District Administration Office, while the Attorney General’s Office decided not to file a case against him in the passport controversy.

Meanwhile, the Tanahu-1 constituency is vacant after North Carolina’s Ram Chandra Paudel was elected president.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: