Maoist Center resigns from the Gandaki government

The CPN (Maoist Center) has resigned from the government of Gandaki province.

The Maoist Center made the decision to withdraw from the government during a parliamentary party meeting on Friday.

Hari Bahadur Chun, leader of the Maoist Center parliamentary party, briefed Reporters on the party’s decision to leave the government.

Chuman, who is minister of physical infrastructure, and Resham Bahadur Jugjali, who is minister of industry, represent the Maoist Center in the Gandaki government.

Both Chuman and Jugjali are preparing to tender their resignation to Chief Minister Khagaraj Adhikari on the same Friday.

The Nepal Congress and the Maoist Center agreed to take turns heading the provincial government. But it has not yet been decided who will become prime minister in the first phase.

Prime Minister and CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal had instructed the Maoist provincial committee on Thursday to resign from the Gandaki government.

The leader of the CPN-UML parliamentary party, Khagaraj Adhikari, was appointed prime minister of Gandaki province with the support of the Maoist Center and other parties. Adhikari will now have to do a floor test in a month’s time as the Maoist Center has withdrawn its support for the government.

UML has 22 lawmakers, including the deputy chairman of the Gandaki provincial assembly, while the Maoist Center has eight, including the president. The Nepali Congress has 27 legislators, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party has two and the CPN (Unified Socialist) has one.

If the Nepal Congress and the Maoist Center form a coalition, they would have the majority required for the formation of a government.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: