Paudel presents nomination for presidential election

Nepali Congress (NC) Senior Leader Ram Chandra Paudel submitted the nomination as the common eight-party candidate for the presidential election to be held on March 9.

NC Chairman Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN (Socialist Unified) Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal, CPN (Maoist Center) Senior Vice President Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Nagarik Unmukti Party Chairman, Ranjita Shrestha, Party Leader Janamat, Abdul Khan, and Janata Samajwadi party leader Ashok Rai proposed Paudel’s proposal. candidacy while he presented the nomination on Saturday afternoon.

Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Chairman Mahantha Thakur, Rastriya Janamorcha Chairman Chitra Bahadur KC, NC Vice President Purna Bahadur Khadka and Maoist Center Leader Hit Raj Pandey supported his candidacy.

The CN working committee meeting held at the party office in Sanepa last Saturday decided to choose Paudel as its presidential candidate.

NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba proposed making Paudel the presidential candidate during the meeting.

He is the common candidate of eight parties and looks set to become the third president of Nepal after Ram Baran Yadav and Bidya Devi Bhandari.

An eight-party meeting on Friday decided to support the NC candidate in the March 9 presidential election.

The meeting of leaders of NC, Maoist Center, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), Socialist Unity Party, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party (LSP), Janamat Party, Rastriya Janamorcha and Nagarik Unmukti Party decided to nominate the joint presidential candidate of the great old party. The parties also decided to grant the position of vice president to JSP.

Prime Minister (PM) and CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Nepali Congress (NC) Chairman Sher Bahadur Deuba and CPN (United Socialist) Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal also completed the Friday the length of their respective terms as prime minister.

The three leaders ended their terms of office after holding a separate meeting amid the coalition meeting in Baluwatar on Friday night.

Dahal would first serve for two and a half years, Nepal for one year and Deuba for the remaining year and a half and hold the next elections.

Leave a Reply