RSP to give vote of confidence to PM Dahal

The Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) has decided to give Prime Minister (PM) Pushpa Kamal Dahal a vote of confidence.

The meeting of officials and lawmakers held on Sunday decided to vote for Prime Minister Dahal during the floor test scheduled for Monday, according to Chief Whip Santosh Pariyar.

Dahal had left the coalition with the Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN (United Socialist) on December 25 and became prime minister with the support of CPN-UML, Rastriya Swatantra Party, RPP, Janata Samajwadi Party ( JSP), the Janamat Party and the Nagarik Unmukti Party later Nepalese Congress (NC) Chairman Sher Bahadur Deuba refused to appoint him as prime minister first.

He easily passed the January 10 test with 268 votes after all parties in the House of Representatives (HoR) except the Nepal Workers and Peasants Party and Rastriya Janamorcha voted for the government.

RSP was in that coalition and had given a vote of confidence, but has since left the government after the party failed to win the Home Office.

Prime Minister Dahal is constitutionally bound to seek a floor test again after CPN-UML and RPP left the government following the decision of NC, CPN (Maoist Center), Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) and CPN (Unified Socialist) to revive the pre-election coalition.

Leave a Reply