Nepal Vice Presidential Election: Voting Concludes

KATHMANDU, March 17: The election for the country’s Vice President has come to a close, with voting concluding at the Federal Parliament Building polling station.

The Electoral Commission has reported a total of 311 federal legislators and 518 provincial assembly members participating in the vote.

The three candidates in the race are Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara) of the CPN (UML), Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party and Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav of Nepal’s Janata Samajbadi Party. The results of the election will be announced today, after the scrutiny process, which will be held at the same venue. In accordance with the Constitution, the Vice President shall perform the functions of the President in the absence of the President and his term of office shall last for five years from the date of his election.

It is also specified that a person who has been elected twice as Vice President is not eligible to run for office again.

Leave a Reply