CM Shah of Sudurpaschim province wins vote of confidence

KATHMANDU, March 5: Sudurpaschim Province Chief Minister Kamal Bahadur Shah won a vote of confidence on Sunday.

Shah won the votes of a two-thirds majority at a meeting of the provincial assembly held today.

As many as 19 Nepali Congress legislators, 10 from the CPN (Maoist Center), seven from the Nagarik Unmukti Party, four from the CPN (United Socialist) and one independent candidate voted for Shah.

Out of the total 53 members of the provincial assembly, 10 from the CPN-UML and one from the Rastriya Prajatantra Party voted against CM Shah.

In accordance with Article 168 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal, in cases where neither party has a clear majority in the Provincial Assembly, the Head of Province shall appoint as Chief Minister a member of the Provincial Assembly who can obtain the majority with the support of two or more parties representing the Provincial Assembly. In cases where the Chief Minister cannot be appointed pursuant to clause (2) within thirty days after the date of declaration of the final results of the election to the Provincial Assembly, the Chief Minister so appointed does not obtain a vote of confidence, the Head of Province shall appoint as Chief Minister the parliamentary party leader of the party with the largest number of members in the Provincial Assembly. (4) The Chief Minister appointed pursuant to clause (2) or (3) shall obtain a vote of confidence from the Provincial Assembly within thirty days of the date of such appointment.

Leave a Reply